principal investigator

Mingyi Xie, Associate Professor
Henry E. Innes Endowed Professor in Cancer Research
University of Florida Research Foundation Professor

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
UF Health Cancer Center
University of Florida
Office phone: 352-273-8171
Lab phone: 352-273-8173
Email: mingyi.xie@ufl.edu
C.V.
Experience: Postdoc training. Yale University with Joan Steitz
Education: Ph.D. Arizona State University with Julian Chen
B.Sci. Xiamen University, China

Research scientists

Headshot of Dr. Peike Sheng, postdoctoral associate

Peike Sheng

(started in Jan. 2017)

Email: peike.sheng@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8173
Education:
Ph.D. Hunan University/ Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
B.Sci. Hunan University, China


Headshot of Dr. Lu Li, postdoctoral associate

Lu Li

(started in Jul. 2018)

Email: luli1@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8173
Education:
Ph.D. Nanjing Agricultural University, China
B.Sci. Nanjing Agricultural University

postdoctoral associates

Yuzhi

Yuzhi Wang

(started in Jul. 2021)

Email: wangyuzhi@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Education:
Ph.D. Southeast University, China
B.Sci. Huaibei Normal University, China

graduate students (ph.d.)

Headshot of Tianqi Li, graduate student

Tianqi Li

(started in Aug. 2018; joined the lab in Dec. 2018)

Email: tianqi.li@ufl.edu,
Lab Phone: 352-273-8173,
Education:
M.Sci. Georgetown University
B.Sci. Nanjing University, China


Nicholas Hiers

(started in Aug. 2020; joined the lab in Jan. 2021)

Email: nhiers@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Education:
B.Sci. Florida Gulf Coast University


Conner

Conner Traugot

(started in Aug. 2021; joined the lab in Apr. 2022)

Email: connertraugot@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Education:
B.Sci. Duke University


Alex Carbonell

(started in Aug. 2023; joined the lab in Feb. 2024)

Email: acarbonell@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Education:
B.Sci. University of Florida

Undergraduate students

Jessica Effinger-Morris

(started in Sep. 2021)

as lab technician (Started in Jan. 2023)

Email: effingermorris.j@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biology


Michael Yao

Michael Yao

(started in Jul. 2022)

Email: yao.m@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biochemistry


Bianca Lederfeind

(started in Aug. 2022)

as lab technician (Started in Feb. 2023)

Email: blederfeind@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Microbiology & Cell Science


Hazel Parent

(started in Sep. 2023)

as lab technician (Started in Apr. 2024)

Email: hazelparent@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biochemistry


Nalani Quintana

(started in Sep. 2023)

Email: n.quintana@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biology


Sabrina Hernandez

(started in Oct. 2023)

Email: sa.hernandez@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Microbiology


Helena Almeida

(started in Jan. 2024)

as lab technician (Started in Apr. 2024)

Email: helena.almeida@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biochemistry


Kerolus Anis

(started in May 2024)

Email: kanis@ufl.edu
Lab Phone: 352-273-8198
Major: Biology

Lab Alumni

List of former lab members